Dirty Jeans and mudslide hymns


2011, August 2, new west records

CD Album: NW 6206


CD/DVD: NW 6209


2 LP Vinyl: NW 5036

  CD / LP    
1 Damn This Town 4:52 30 seconds preview
2 ‘Til I Get My Lovin’ Back 3:27 30 seconds preview
3 I Love That Girl 4:19 30 seconds preview
4 All The Way Under 3:49 30 seconds preview
5 Don’t Wanna Leave You Now 5:42 30 seconds preview
6 Detroit Made 3:52 30 seconds preview
7 Hold On For Your Love 6:21 30 seconds preview
8 Train To Birmingham 3:37 30 seconds preview
9 Down Around My Place 5:59 30 seconds preview
10 Adios To California 3:46 30 seconds preview
11 When New York Had Her Heart Broke 5:08 30 seconds preview

Total running time:

1 The making of 24:00  


John Hiatt:

acoustic and electric guitar Vocals

Doug Lancio:

electric guitar

Kenneth Blevins:


Patrick O’Hearn:

Electric Bass


Additional Musicians

Doug Henthorn: Additional backing vocals
Russ Pahl: Pedal steel guitar
Arlan Schierbaum: Keyboards
Reese Wynans: Organ on "Down around my place"


  • All songs written by John Hiatt.

  • Orchestration by Jeff Bova and the boulevard orchestra.

  • Produced by Kevin Shirley.

  • Recorded at Ben's Studio, Nashville TN.

  • Engineer: Leslie Richter.

  • Assistant: Sorrel Lavigne.

  • Mixed by Kevin "caveman" Shirley at the cave, Malibu, CA.

  • Assistant: James McCullagh.

  • Mastered By George Marino at sterling sound, New York, NY.

  • A&R Direction Gary Briggs.

  • Photography by David McClister.

  • Design by Gina R. Binkley.

Thanks to my wife and family, Vector management, United Talent Agency, Flood, Bumstead, McCready & McCarthy business management.

New West Records DVD Production

  • DVD produced by Gary Briggs, George Fontaine Sr. & Mike Ruthig.

  • Cameras: Matt & Mark Pfeffer for Smark Mark.

  • Still Photographers: David McClister, Georgia Rae Hiatt, Jay Wright, Brandon Young, Gary Briggs.

  • Editor: Justin Barelay

  • Project manager: Peter Jesperson.

  • New West intro design: Victoria De La Paz

Thanks to: Gina R. Binkley, Scott Knabe, Kevin Shirley, the staff at Ben's studio, Nashville, TN, Ken Levitan and the vector staff and everyone at New West Recors.

24/96 High resolution audio mix of entire album mastered by George Marino at sterling sound - New York, NY. Mixed by Kevin Shirley.





Since John Hiatt and the major labels decided to go their separate ways around the turn of the century, his approach to record making has been direct and organic; most of his albums have sounded as if Hiatt and his sidemen put them together without a lot of fuss, placing the emphasis squarely on Hiatt's dependably strong material and tough, flinty vocal style. But 2011's Dirty Jeans and Mudslide Hymns is a more polished and ambitious affair than Hiatt has delivered in years. The sessions were produced by Kevin Shirley, who has previously worked with Aerosmith, the Black Crowes, Dream Theater, and Journey, and though his approach isn't especially intrusive, the sound of this record is certainly more luxurious, with the guitars sounding bigger, the drums booming a bit louder, and strings and keyboards decorating several tracks and the arrangements, gaining a greater sense of drama along the way. The latter is fitting, since the songs on Dirty Jeans have a more melodramatic tone than most of Hiatt's recent work, particularly "Damn This Town"'s tale of a shattered family, the romantic lament of "Don't Want to Leave You Now," "Down Around My Place"'s elegy to a world gone to seed, and Hiatt's belated meditation on 9/11, "When New York Had Her Heart Broke." While Hiatt's accompanists play in a strong, confident manner (especially guitarist Doug Lancio, drummer Kenneth Blevins, and Russ Pahl on pedal steel), Shirley's production tries to build atmosphere and dramatic tension out of echo and reverb, and sometimes his artful approach is a bit much, particularly since most of these numbers would certainly sound powerful with a more Spartan approach. But this delivers another 11 songs from one of America's best working tunesmiths, no small thing, and it shows Hiatt's craft is still potent, while his singing hasn't been this effective in years. In many respects, Dirty Jeans and Mudslide Hymns shows that John Hiatt is well served by a more hands-on production, though one might also imagine Kevin Shirley isn't necessarily the best person to do the job.